Teams CDR

New Contributor

Right now we can only pull 30 days of data. Florida requires 3 years of CDR data. Whats the roadmap for Teams voice CDR past 30 days? This is a roadblock.

5 Replies

Hi,

I'm not a lawyer but it looks like that law is for carriers and not for you as an end user or administrator. So the carrier have to keep this data.

https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/47/42.6

So I think this is not a roadblock for you. If it were a problem Microsoft as an American company using this solution themselves would have changed this and they would not have any Florida companies using Phone System.

But with that said more than 30 days data would be good in the Teams Admin Center.

I see that you started a uservoice request about this and that is the best way to go.

https://microsoftteams.uservoice.com/forums/555103-public/suggestions/39699157-teams-federal-and-sta...

In the capacity that pertains to my question public records requests for CDR are provided by my department (Telecommunications) as we are the Telco for the voice services we change back to for a University. More specifically we are required to retain this data for internal and external calling. The carrier would not have any internal call records within the PBX so we must be able to keep 3 years worth of this data. Phone system does not have a way to pull 30+ days of CDR even if we were using Direct Routing instead.

Isn't that law that you referred to in the uservoice only for calls that are going to be billed? "Each carrier that offers or bills toll telephone service". Internal calls within Teams are not charged, those are free calls.

I know that some of the software developers doing reporting systems for Skype for Business been trying to use Get-CsUserSession  to export session and save in a separate database but I think they are waiting for real API for this.