"Read-only" and "in use with another user"

New Contributor

All my new Excel documents are automatically getting saved as "read-only" somehow.  I go to open them, and a dialogue box comes up that says they are "read-only" and are being used by another user.  They are not shared with any other users, there are no other users on my computer or network, and I haven't checked any "read-only" options when saving them!

 

3 Replies

Hey@amanda_yachechak 

Try This:

 

Right clik on your excel files, gol into the Properties Options, and make sure, under the Attributes section, the Read Only Check box is unchecked.

 

Excel-file-property.jpg

@Excel_World_Champion 

Yes, I've done that.  The problem is when I go to the options box, "read-only" is clicked and in grey, so I can't unclick it.  And again, I've never set the document as "read-only" to begin with.  Somehow the program is doing this automatically.

Hey@amanda_yachechak 

Maybe Try going into your accounts options in the file Tab and see if your Office subscriptions expired or not

www.000webhost.com